[translation] Sasaki to Miyano “SasaMyaa Radio” #1

Program: SasaMyaa Radio #1 (anime: Sasaki & Miyano)
Hosts: Saitou Souma and Shirai Yuusuke

I was commissioned to translate first two episodes of this radio program. I will be only be publishing the first 11 minutes (out of 30 mins) translation of the first episode. To access the full translation, please pay the same amount with my commissioner. DM me on twitter or send me an email for a quote.

tos/tou:
✔ appreciate the shares (via link/share button). posting screenshot (partly, not whole entry) to SNS for fangirl/boying purposes is allowed.
✘ 100% copy paste repost/screenshot sharing. using my translation to create subtitled video. retranslation to other languages. (permission granted if you’re a commissioner)

0:10
Saitou and Shirai: Sasamiya Radio!
Shirai: I am Shirai Yusuke who plays as Sasaki Shuumei in the TV anime Sasaki & Miyano.
Saitou: I am Saito Souma who plays as Miyano Yoshikazu.
Shirai: Yooo! Yahooo! It has started! SasaMyaa Radio has started!
Saitou: SasaMyaaa Radio!
Shirai: Right?
Saitou: This can be listened to on YouTube, right
Shirai: Yes.
Saitou: There will be text on it?
Shirai: If we say something weird, there will be text appearing on screen.
Saitou: We want to show them footage though..!
Shirai: We are recording this radio at the (anime’s) recording studio.
Saitou: Shirai-san, do you have such an experience?
Shirai: I don’t think so.
Saitou: It’s the first time for me too.
Shirai: Usually we would record at a radio booth. Sometimes we do (record at studios like this) for commentaries but to do radio recording here….
Saitou: We are here in the corner of such a broad studio…
Shirai: Such a luxurious way of recording a radio program in a broad space.
Saitou: We’re thankful for that.

1:14
Shirai: That said, to brief what Sasamiya is to those who came across this franchise for the first time through this radio…
Saitou: Yes!
Shirai: (SasaMyaa comes from) Sasaki’s Sasa and Miyano’s Myaa! Miyano is also known as Myaa-chan. These two together are known as Sasamiya.
Saitou: Yes, yes.
Shirai: That’s how the program got its name.
Saitou: Yup!
Shirai: Well! We also would like to deliver the charm of this franchise called Sasaki & Miyano….
Saitou: Yes.
Shirai: We were told not to mind too much.
Saitou: Well, true.
Shirai: We should just act like we usually do.
Saitou: That’s how it should be if the two of us are made to work together.
Shirai: Well, there’s that. Somehow, it’s the first time for the two of us to work together on a program like this.
Saitou: That’s right, I’ve been looking forward to it.
Shirai: Same here. I’m going to dig up and look for Souma’s new side through and through.
Saitou: Haha!
Shirai: That said, after releasing the promotional video to mark the start of this program, we already received so many fan letters.
Saitou: Thank you so much!
Shirai: Let’s read them out.

2:20
Shirai: Let’s see. From Orinrin-san. Thank you so much.
Saitou: Thank you so much.
Shirai: “Congratulations on the start of SasaMyaa Radio.” Thank you. I’ve supported Sasamiya since it started as a manga, then to a drama CD and finally now an anime! It’s a franchise that helps me get used to the change of surroundings and pushes me from behind, so I wish more people will learn about Sasamiya…”
Shirai: “… Bittersweet youthful boys life were portrayed in Sasamiya, but I spent an indifferent from being youthful student life so this story felt so bright to me. If the two of you go to all-boys school like Sasamiya, what kind of student life would you like to lead? For me, I want to try eating in classroom until late after school.”
Saitou: Ahhh.
Shirai: But to eat in the classroom until late after school is something possible.
Saitou: Well, yeah. Shirai-kun, what kind of student were you back then?
Shirai: High school age? Uh, high school…. I was in the age of darkness.
Saitou: Pfftt hehehehe!

3:17
Saitou: So you were *Kuroi-san?
Shirai: Well, yeah I was Kuroi.
Saitou: Did you have low self esteem?
Shirai: Nope, I was just a plain and mediocre high schooler.
Saitou: Ehhh. How about clubs and such?
Shirai: I didn’t enter any for two years.
Saitou: And the remaining one year?
Shirai: I was in the mountaineering club for the remaining one year.
Saitou: Ehh, isn’t that nice?
Shirai: Well, but again, I did not experience anything youthful from clubs too.
Saitou: I see, something like rehearsing together with everyone to enter a competition…

(* 黒井 instead of his real name 白井. Shirai’s name has the character 白 – white, and 黒 means black)

3:50
Shirai: There are competitions for mountaineering club but I joined the club because the friends I’m close with were there. I was only part of it because of its members. Before that, I used to fake being sick to leave early, go to the arcade and play fighting games.
Saitou: Hahahaha!
Shirai: Nearby the train station.
Saitou: Ah, you were someone from that zone..?
Shirai: Yup, yup.
Saitou: Ehhh. But arcades have its own community, right?
Shirai: They do, they do!
Saitou: You went there with your arcade buddies, right?
Shirai: People from the same school.
Saitou: Ahh I see.
Shirai: Everyone from the same school played truant and went to arcade.
Saitou: Ehhh. On the other hand, I’ve never played truant…
Shirai: Whoa, an exemplary student!
Saitou: That’s right. Since I was a student who thought that skipping school is something bad so if I could return (back to student age) I want to skip school and go to arcade!
Shirai: You were being brainwashed. Skipping school is not all bad.
Saitou: Haha! That’s right. One might only get to taste youth through spending time idly by skipping school.
Shirai: That’s right.

4:55
Saitou: But all-boys school students tend to do things on their own accord, something that we also see in fiction…
Shirai: That’s right. That is something unimaginable, right?
Saitou: The recording studio for Sasamiya, too, has an all- boys school vibe.
Shirai: Full of men.
Saitou: How do I put this? I want to do something silly without feeling embarrassed.
Shirai: I feel you. Since there’s no need to act cool…
Saitou: Yup, yup!
Shirai: I can see myself being more and more corrupted..
Saitou: Hahaha! That’s right.
Shirai: I can see that I would be even worse.
Saitou: By chance, I watched a franchise with an all-boys school as its setting yesterday.
Shirai: Ehhh.
Saitou: They said, “For now, make people laugh by stripping off”. Hahaha!
Shirai: That….! Well, we often hear something like that. An all- boys or all-girls school thing.
Saitou: Yeah, yeah.
Shirai: Well, but then again, that might be a fun youth.
Saitou: There were also those who got to experience great youth through Sasamiya too. Thank you so much.
Shirai: Following up.
Saitou: Yes, yes. This one comes from Momiji no Happa-san. Thank you so much.

6:11
Saitou: “How did the two of you feel upon knowing the casts of main characters? Please also let us know anything to be enthusiastic about. I am looking forward to listening to a river flow-like smooth radio program.”
Shirai: That’s uh … a huge misunderstanding.
Saitou: Haha! That should be personnel selection then!
Shirai: Other people and not us.
Saitou: Anyway, we had a recital performance ahead of the airing of anime the other day. Thanks for the hard work!
Shirai: Appreciate the hard work~
Saitou: We’re grateful to those who were watching too. But considering how we have worked since its drama CD… I think it’s been 3, 4 years…?
Shirai: I think so.
Saitou: I have not had much chance to work with Shirai-kun yet.
Shirai: Yup, we (our characters) do not have much interaction.
Saitou: We meet way too frequently these days.

7:00
Shirai: We sometimes pass by each other in studio. Like, I would find Souma when I open the door to exit. “Ah, so you’re next?”
Saitou: Yeah, we would meet up three to four times in a week. Since Sasamiya is getting an anime adaption, we’ll be meeting more. Acceleration wise, I can feel that we started to be in gear more and more.
Shirai: That’s right. I feel the same too.
Saitou: Really, Sasaki and Miyano is one of the many chances (for us to interact more).
Shirai: That’s right.
Saitou: So I’m thankful for that.
Shirai: Likewise. I’m thankful we get the chance to host a radio program together.
Saitou: As mentioned by Shirai-kun earlier. Since we’ve never worked on a program together, I wonder how this will turn out?
Shirai: Yes, that’s right. Something unexpected, like our personal sides…
Saitou: Which side do you tend to take when handling a program? Would you be one who keeps the talk going or perhaps…?
Shirai: I think it depends on my partner?
Saitou: So you can be either one?
Shirai: I can try if I want to…though unsatisfactory, I can do it.
Shirai & Saitou: Hehehe!
Saitou: I’m looking forward to when we’re having guests over!
Shirai: Nah, nah! But with Souma around, I feel like I can fool around at ease. Just like during the after talk on the recital performance the other day.
Saitou: Hehehe, that’s right.
Shirai: No matter how ridiculously silly I act, Souma will conclude the talk firmly.
Saitou: There’s this atmosphere of “we-expect-nothing-less- from-Souma”.
Saitou & Shirai: Hahahaha!

8:33
Shirai: Ah, so you noticed?
Saitou: Yeah, a lot has happened recently.
Shirai: Yup, yup.
Saitou: I’m excited to see how this will turn out.
Shirai: After doing the recital, I feel more eager to let everyone see the anime. Since everyone watches us with sparkling eyes….
Saitou: When they showed us the teaser footage for the first time too..
Shirai: Right?!
Saitou: It was really beautiful.
Shirai: That’s right. Such as the way the small river stream flows.
Saitou: This program is my only concern.
Shirai: Hehehe!
Saitou: Seriously.
Shirai: Nahh.
Saitou: Hahaha!
Shirai: We want to let them feel the gap (between casts and characters).
Saitou: That’s true. Like, the main story is dazzling.
Shirai: It’s fine this way.
Saitou: Meanwhile, we act like all-boys high school students in this program.
Shirai: Yup, like school students. A bit private-like.

9:27
Shirai: Moving on to the next letter.
Saitou: Yes!
Shirai: This one comes from Ba~nana-san.
Saitou: Pfft haha!
Shirai: “I’m a fan of Sasaki & Miyano’s original work. Since I started reading it at the age where I am an adult, I constantly feel the surge of desire to protect these innocent high school boys! What are the things that the two of you want to protect at the moment? I am so excited to see the expression they will show in the anime.” Eh? Something we want to protect?
Saitou: On the contrary – this is the image that I have of you. I feel like Shirai-kun is a no-guard tactician, in a good way.
Shirai: I do not have the intention to protect myself, that’s why.
Saitou: I see.
Shirai: That’s right.
Saitou: Something I want to protect…
Shirai: I wonder what is it?
Saitou: I wonder.
Shirai: For me, it’s gotta be Liverpool athlete’s…
Saitou: Pfftt hahaha!
Shirai: I want to protect their bodies? Their health.
Saitou: Seriously. I want to show everyone Shirai-san’s clothes today!
Shirai: That’s right. Since athletes tend to injure themselves.
Saitou: Ahh, as expected.
Shirai: For people who do sports.
Saitou: Hard contact happens in soccer gameplay.
Shirai: It is.
Saitou: Soccer is such a sport, so…

10:36
Saitou: Umm, something I want to *observe? I wonder? Sleeping time, perhaps?
Shirai: Ahhh, of course. We have to sleep!
Saitou: Really…
Shirai: It’s hard, right?
Saitou: When it comes to the throat… It’s like a consumable product.
Shirai: Exactly.
Saitou: Since both of us are given various kinds of roles, ranging from high tone to deep voice.
Shirai: That’s right.
Saitou: Isn’t it hard? For example, I speak in a very high tone voice in the morning and then very low tone voice during midday. There are days when I can only tune my voice into either one tone.
Shirai: You’re right~ Sometimes that happens.
Saitou: Shirai-san’s character in that franchise we’re in together has quite a high pitched voice too.
Shirai: My throat is working too hard. It was tough.
Saitou: Haha! Just like Liverpool players, we too, should take care of our health-
Shirai: Take care of our health.
Saitou: Let’s take care of our bodies and lives.
Shirai: Everyone too, please take care of your health.
Saitou: Health comes first.
Shirai: That’s right.
Saitou: That wraps the fan letter segment.
Shirai: Thank you so much.

(*The word used “mamoru” has multiple meanings depending on the context. It may be protect, abide, observe, guard etc)

Thank you for reading! If you’re keen to read the full translation + translation of the second episode of this radio, please contact me. You will be charged with the same quote with my client (approximately $64. This was, btw, a quoted price before I revised my current charge).

Email / Twitter DM / Commission info

Published by

currytantou

Hello ☆〜(ゝ。∂) I go with the online pseudo “miichan” but I might be known as currytantou or konpeisubs too _(:3 」∠)_ I share JP-ENG translation of whatever media I found interesting @ currytantou and talk about adult joseimuke media @ cxrry <3 Hope you enjoy your stay!

Leave a comment